In the digital age we have Twitter, we have YouTube,we have Facebook, we have Pinterest–of which I’m not even on–and we also have MySpace! But, wait…… No one uses MySpace anymore. I think….
Anyhow, we have a TON of social media platforms that we can utilize for sharing things, our lives, our pets, bad jokes, baggage from past relationships, whatever. We can do this in the form of text or words on a screen such as this blog post that your’e reading. We can also share audio, or we can share video. Whatever the medium, and whatever the platform, and whatever it is, YOU, and everybody else can share what they want, anytime they want.
Add to that mix, Periscope. A relatively new mobile sharing app that allows you to instantly broadcast yourself live from your smartphone or tablet device, both on Android and iOS. In the video below I recently shot my very first Periscope video (and be sure to follow me on Periscope!) which was quite fun! Of course the very first experience with anything new is going to be exciting, but I am looking forward to the latest trend in digital engagement. Live broadcasting!
Periscope is the newest and greatest in mobile app tools. It’s basically a live streaming video mobile app purchased by Twitter in February of 2015 has risen to popularity as the most popular way to broadcast and share live video. You have the ability to do a live broadcast at anytime you wish with the added capability of recording and replaying these videos at any time. You have full social media integration with each video, or broadcast that you create, and you can also see people join or leave your broadcast and they can approve of you by interacting with you with hearts and messages. If you’re on Twitter you’ll know that the company just recently changed their “like” button to a ♡ in an effort to increase and grow the membership base. The Periscope app also allows you to chat with a group of friends as well so that more than one person will be on the broadcast.
Replays are only available for 24 hours after the broadcast. After that period the broadcast is deleted.
You can do private broadcasts to users of your choice by locking the broadcast before going live and selecting the individual you want to broadcast to.
Of course, when you go live you also have the option of tweeting your broadcast out to your Twitter following, that’s if you have a twitter following. I can actually see where this might encourage users of Twitter to build up their twitter following and engage more on the platform.
Version 1.3 of the app was just released on November 11, 2015.
So far the reviews have been pretty good when I look out on the landscape.
Like this post?
Share it with a friend!
Join my newsletter to get
tips, guides, news, and more delivered once a week.